Maw

Bad Seminar

The pool of NBN junior executives had moved from the lecture hall to the snack bar. A few of them had pulled out their PADs and were logging into secure servers, checking on portfolios and workflows.

Exactly as Valencia had planned. She had to hand it to Laramy: his seminars always got the young blood riled up and ready to return to work—climb that corporate ladder. And that left an opening.

Bringing up her own PAD, she checked on her data trawler. As the NBN freshies crowed over the new strategies they’d employ come Monday morning, Valencia’s programs were siphoning off bits of data and depositing them remotely for later pickup. Might be something she could leak; might be something she could use later to gain more access. Either way, it was going to be a good day.

“Ms. Valencia? Could I have a moment?” The speaker was one of the NBN babies. His open face and stuttering nervousness almost made Valencia pity him.

“Absolutely!” Valencia said, sliding her PAD back into her satchel. “What can I do for you,” she glanced down at his name card. “Liam?”

“I saw your piece on the NAPD mistreatment of squatters in the lower Government District. It was breathtaking, really good stuff.”

“Well thank you, Liam. Any comment on the increased hostility we saw from NBN-backed private security forces during the Flashpoint incident?”

He laughed a little too loudly. “Ah, no comment. Actually, I was thinking I could have an angle on a good press opportunity. I’m a junior ad exec on the recent GFI project, and I was thinking I could set up an NBN-sponsored humanitarian venture in Laguna Velasco. Would you be interested in following up on that?”

Valencia smiled her best grin. “Liam, I feel like we’re going to be good friends.”

Feeding a Hungry Maw

Maw is a weird card. I mean, if you hit a remote, you’re usually planning on stealing or trashing. So I guess it mostly triggers from R&D and HQ? To that end, I made a deck that focuses on locking the remote (Blackmail) and bunching agendas up in HQ (Fisk Investment Seminar).

We spread out our threat with Bhagat, and if we miss an Agenda in HQ, Maw pops another card into Archives for us to pick up later.

I’ve also always wanted Investigative Journalism to work, and it works really well with the Conspiracy breakers since you can use the Bad Pub to install them. Plus Black Orchestra and MKUltra are expensive to use.

Make sure to use your Parasites to keep HQ accessible and the remote manageable.

With I’ve Had Worse, Fisk, and Inject, I feel like we have enough card draw, and there’ll be a fair amount of overdraw to get the Conspiracies in the bin.

Honestly, I didn’t know what to do with Maw when I started. When I cranked this deck out, I was really excited about the synergies.

Bad Seminar Valencia (Maw)

Valencia Estevez: The Angel of Cayambe

Event (21)

3x Blackmail

3x Career Fair  ●●●

3x Déjà Vu

3x Fisk Investment Seminar  ●●●●● ●

2x I’ve Had Worse

3x Inject

1x Rumor Mill

3x Sure Gamble

 

Hardware (3)

3x Maw

 

Resource (14)

2x Bhagat

3x Daily Casts

3x Investigative Journalism

3x Liberated Account

3x Same Old Thing

 

Icebreaker (6)

2x Black Orchestra

2x MKUltra

2x Paperclip

 

Program (6)

2x Datasucker

1x Medium

3x Parasite ★★★

 

9 influence spent (max 15-3★=12, available 3)

50 cards (min 50)

Cards up to Daedalus Complex

 

Deck built on https://netrunnerdb.com.

Leave a Reply

